Award Winning Smore’s Cupcakes

06/20/2011

Here are my 3rd prize winning Smore’s cupcakes from this years Lowe’s bake-off. I was disappointed to only win 3rd place, but the strawberry pie that came in 1st was very deserving.

These cupcakes used my usual chocolate cake recipe with chocolate chips, a homemade marshmallow frosting (recipe below) and a chocolate ganache. I also sprinkled some crushed graham crackers on the top to make them seem more like Smore’s, but they really didn’t add much flavor wise.

Marshmallow Frosting – much easier than you may think

1 cup sugar

3 tblsp water

2 egg whites

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1/2 tsp salt

I was intimidated by making homemade marshmallow, so much so that I even bought a container of Marshmallow Fluff just in case, but I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it comes together.

You start by bringing your water and sugar to a low boil on the stove top. Stir this constantly as it comes to a boil so you dissolve the sugar and it won’t burn. Once the sugar is completely dissolved, after about 2 minutes of boiling gently, take the mix off the heat and let it hang out. Don’t wait too long about assembling the frosting though because cold syrup will not make a good consistency.

Next step is to take your room temperature egg whites (try to find something to do with the yolks because I always feel bad throwing them out) and beat them in a stand mixer with your cream of tartar and salt on medium speed until you have a very frothy mixture that forms small peaks.

Now slowly pour in the hot sugar syrup and continue beating at medium speed for about 5 minutes. Your frosting is going to be very shiny and soft like clouds. You want to frost your cupcakes or cake as soon as you finish the frosting so it doesn’t melt or deflate. It is surprisingly easy to pipe too!

When I made my frosting I added a tsp of vanilla extract and as an afterthought I wish I hadn’t, thus I left it out of the recipe. It gave my frosting a slightly bitter aftertaste.

I am very excited that I mastered this recipe because I will be using it to make Smore’s and Smore cupcakes from here on out.

Leave a Reply

