Birthday Chess Pie

05/11/2011

As promised here is the delectable chess pie I made for my dad’s birthday. The recipe is courtesy of allrecipes.com, which is where I do  most of my recipe shopping. I will probably alter a few things the next time I make it due to different oven temperatures and the size of my pie pan.

Chess Pie

1/2 c. butter

2 c. white sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

4 eggs

1tblsp white cornmeal

1 tblsp vinegar

1/4 c evaporated milk

1 9″ pie crust

Slightly brown yet sinfully delicious

The recipe calls for a preheated oven of 425 degrees F, however my oven heats unevenly with more heat distributed to the top. It is an older oven so I would suggest taking it down to 400 degrees F. Newer ovens should be fine at 425.

In a mixer beat sugar, butter and vanilla together until combined, add your eggs one at a time until they are combined. I always crack my eggs into a separate bowl to make sure no shells sneak in and so I can easily add them slowly to make sure they all combine evenly. Then turn off the mixer and use a wooden or plastic spoon to stir in the cornmeal, milk and vinegar.

I have made my own pie crusts before, but for this recipe I used a store bought crust. I rolled out the crust to about 1/4” thickness and laid it in my pie pan. Then pour the pie mixture in and bake for 10 minutes at 425 (or 400). After that ten minutes lower the temperature to 300 degrees F and bake for another 40-45 minutes. Check on your pie after about 15-20 minutes and if the crust is looking too brown, take the pie out and cover the edges of the crust with aluminum foil for the remainder of the baking time.

The pie should be firm to a slight shake and a golden brown color when done. Let it set for at least 10 minutes before cutting to keep from the center being runny.

Leave a Reply

