Double Chocolate Almond Cookies

This past Sunday I had a serious itch to be in the kitchen. Part of it was I needed some ammunition for my blog, the other part of it was just the uncontrollable desire to make an unruly mess.

Let me preface by saying that the Middle Tennessee area has been experiencing some record-breaking heat, and so logically I wanted to spend an entire day hovering over a 350-400 degree oven.  It was crazy, and after seeing this past months electric bill I can only say that I will probably regret this day next month.

So on with the cookies. Ina Garten, from The Barefoot Contessa, is my go-to baking queen. I found this recipe on the Food Network website. I then decided I had to try it! I don’t know who Kathleen King is, but thank you for your cookies.

Here is what you need:

  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) salted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup firmly packed dark or light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup almonds, chopped

The first thing I did, even though the recipe did not specify to, was to preheat my oven to 350 and lay my sliced almonds in an even layer on a sheet pan. Pop them in the oven to toast up for about 4 minutes. As soon as you can smell them, they are done. This will give them that really intense almond flavor and an extra crunch. So now here is a fun little extra.

Put the almonds in a plastic bag. Get a really heavy mallet, skillet, trivet, whatever you have lying around. Commence smashing until the desired size is achieved.

Chopping almonds is for the birds, this is much easier and relieves some stress.

OK, now sift together the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda. In your mixer beat the butter, white sugar and brown sugar together until fluffy and combined. Now beat in the vanilla extract and eggs. (As always do the eggs one at a time to make sure they combine evenly without over mixing.)

Your batter will now look like a mound of chocolate awesome.

Mix in the almonds and two varieties of chocolate chips. After eating these I also think that butterscotch chips would make a delicious alternative to anyone completely turned off by white chocolate (but really who is that!?).

Scoop the batter out with an ice cream scoop and bake at 350 for 14 minutes. The recipe says 15 minutes, but I like to be difficult. I have always thought that cookie recipes always overcooked them, so even though this is a pretty good cooking time, I rebelled.

The recipe also says it yields 52 cookies. I don’t know what kind of teeny-tiny weenie cookies Ina Garten made, but I like a big caloric heart attack with my cookie experience. I ended up with 30.

Here is the finished product. They look so rich and yummy that you will take some to work with you and your office full of women will have devoured them within the hour.

Yum!!! One word of caution. If you like a thin, crunchy cookie, these may not be for you. The consistency is almost brownie-like and they are very soft and chewy. Of course warn your pals with nut allergies! Most of all enjoy!

Leave a Reply

