Bacon Hugged Pork Tenderloin with Mustard & Rosemary

Someone tell me what’s better than a juicy, spicy, delicious slab of pork. Ok, I know it is almost impossible to imagine anything better, but I will tell you. A juicy, spicy, delicious slab of pork wrapped in salty, mouth-watering, crispy bacon.

This Giadia DeLaurentis recipe is not one to miss. Not only is it a show stopper for presentation, but it tastes and smells even better than it looks.

The pork tenderloin is just one of those meats you can do anything with, but I often find myself reverting back to two basic dishes. One is of course BBQ pulled pork. The other is an apricot-jam pork tenderloin served over yellow rice. Both are amazing and can always satisfy my craving for the piggly wiggly, but this bacon wrapped, mustard smothered pork shakes up the routine and will definitely be made again in my kitchen.

Preheat the oven to 350 so it will be waiting on you.

Start off with a pork tenderloin ( I actually just used half of one because I am only feeding two people).  Some tenderloin is very fatty on the outside so if yours is this way you can carefully trim off some of the fat, but leave a little because it will just hug the pork with juiciness.  (Yes I am getting sentimental over my pork). Place it in a shallow baking dish and sprinkle the outside with salt and pepper.

 

Now get started on the gooey-ooey sauce. I will give a slight disclaimer that I did not follow the recipe to the T because I am cheap and sometimes a little kitchen lazy, but I really don’t feel like my end product suffered.

So in the recipe it calls for ¼ cup Dijon mustard and 2 Tblsp whole grain mustard. Instead I substituted two kinds of mustard I would not use again for about ½ cup of spicy brown mustard.  I later used this to make yummy turkey grilled cheese sandwiches and salad dressing. If you will use whole grain and Dijon by all means buy both.

Now combine the mustard (s) with 2 Tblsp honey, four cloves of minced garlic, and 2 tblsp chopped rosemary. I also did not go out and buy fresh rosemary because it is EXPENSIVE. One day when I have a house I plan on growing my own fresh herbs and reaping the benefits daily, however while I live in my little apartment on my little budget  I will use dried rosemary. I also adjusted this with the dry herb to 1 ½ Tblsp so it wouldn’t be overwhelming.

My mom tried this recipe the same weekend I did and she used sage instead of rosemary because my dad HATES rosemary (crazy right?!). She said it was awesome, so feel free to experiment with your herb combos.

Now the fun part! Place your pork in a baking dish and slather ¾ of the mustardy goodness all over the pork. Feel free to use your hands, however a basting brush works just fine.

Once coated take 12 strips of bacon and lay them over the top diagonally. This way will give you 100% crispy bacon coverage. Secure the bacon with toothpicks.

*Warning* It is very imperative that after baking you remember to remove the toothpicks. They are easy to forget. Trust me.

Now take the remaining mustard and smear it over the bacon.

Place the pork into the preheated oven and bake for 1 hour uncovered.

Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 15-20 more minutes.

Now it is imperative that after you take it out of the oven you let the bacon hugged tenderloin rest for 10 minutes under the foil tent! The juices will redistribute and not end up flowing all over your cutting board.

Carefully place the pork onto a board and slice it however thick you want. It will probably crumble just a little because it is so tender and awesome!

Now whisk the drippings in the pan together scraping up all kinds of dark, rich pork bits and spoon over the pork right before serving.

I have eaten some terribly dry and disgraceful tenderloins before, but this is definitely not one of them.

I unfortunately forgot to take a picture of the finished product. Probably because I was too busy eating it.

(By the way, the leftovers make AMAZING sandwiches on small toasted dinner rolls.)

 

Leave a Reply

